INFOS 

UPDATED ARTICLES

1. ALL Kellogg's Ready to eat Cereals
2. Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats contains Beef Gelatine  
3. Kellogg's Special K
4. Why Eat Fruits ? 
5. Think  Twice About Eggs 
6. Egg Good Source of Energy - A Myth
7. Vegetarian Cheese
8. Recommended Cereals
9. Vegetarian Burgers

    Nestles' Product List and other information

1. Download Nestle Product List (for products available in Mauritius)

July 19, 2002

Kellogg's Rice Krispies Treats

In response, to a recent media report in the Sunday Times Extra (30 June 2002) it is important for consumers to know that ALL of Kellogg’s ready-to-eat breakfast cereals are free from animal ingredients and are suitable for consumption by vegetarians.

All Kellogg’s ready-to-eat breakfast cereals are grain based, made from wheat, rice, corn, rye, barley or a combination thereof. We add malt, salt and sugar to flavour our breakfast cereals. To ensure that we provide an optimum balance of nutrients for breakfast, we add vitamins A, B vitamins, C and iron. Kellogg’s Special K contains milk powder and is therefore not suitable for the vegan community but is suitable for the lacto-ovo or lacto vegetarian.

None of our foods use egg or egg derivatives.

Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats is a healthy snack food that is produced on separate premises from our ready-to-eat breakfast cereal plant and contains gelatine derived from beef.

Local certifying bodies have certified our facilities, processes and have fully investigated all ingredients used. All Kellogg’s breakfast cereals meet the standards set by these organizations and can guarantee that our breakfast cereals are free from animal ingredients.

All packaging reflect detailed ingredient lists in strict compliance with the current labelling regulations stipulated in the Foodstuffs, Cosmetics and Disinfectants Act. Act Number 54 of 1972.

Ends

For more information on the certifying bodies contact :

Marlinie Kotiah

The Kellogg Company of South Africa

                                                                                                                                       TOP
Ý
                                                         

Thank you for contacting the Kellogg's Nutrition Advisory Service with your query. You have asked if there are any animal ingredients in Kellogg's Cereals-specifically in Kellogg's Fruitful Bran, Kellogg's Coco Pops Crunchers and Kellogg's Frosties. There are no animal ingredients in these products.

Glycerine is not a an animal product but rather it is the commercial name for glycerol, a colourless, odourless, syrupy liquid chemically, an alcohol obtained from vegetable fats and oils and used to retain moisture and add sweetness to foods.

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

Liz Kullmann RD(SA)
Kellogg's Assistant Nutrition Manager
10/10/2003           

Vegetarian Organisation Mauritius appreciates the customer support and enquiry department with Kellogg's and Weetabix and recognise their professionalism. We  recommend to our readers and vegetarians the cereals products as listed below.  If in doubts, readers could write to them or  send your queries to us. Available resources and information are could be obtained from their web sites. (Read Disclaimer)  

N.B. Some of the products/brands may not be available in Mauritius. 

                                                        
Recommended Cereals                  

 

TM


 

 
Kellogg's products suitable for vegetarians: Kellogg's products suitable for vegans:
All Bran
AllBran Apricot Bites
Bart Simpson's Eat My Shorts
Bart Simpson's No ProblemOs
Bran Flakes
Choco Corn Flakes
Chocolate Crispix
Coco Pops
Coco Pops Cereal & Milk Bars
Coco Pops Crunchers
Coconut Mueslix Bar
Corn Flakes
Corn Flakes Banana Crunch
Corn Flakes Cereal & Milk Bars
Corn Pops
Country Store
Crispix
Crunchy Nut Clusters Honey & Nut
Crunchy Nut Clusters Milk Chocolate Curls
Crunchy Nut Corn Flakes
Crunchy Nut Red
Frosties
Frosties Cereal & Milk Bars
Frosties Chocolate
Frosties Chocolate Cereal & Milk Bars
Frosties Turbo
Fruit 'n Fibre
Fruit 'n Fibre Bar
Honey Loops
Hunny B's
Just Right
Milk Chocolate Mueslix Bar
Nutri-Grain Apple
Nutri-Grain Blueberry
Nutri-Grain Cappuccino
Nutri-Grain Cherry
Nutri-Grain Chocolate
Nutri-Grain Elevenses
Nutri-Grain Ginger Elevenses
Nutri-Grain Minis - Apple
Nutri-Grain Minis - Blueberry
Nutri-Grain Minis - Strawberry
Nutri-Grain Strawberry
Nutri-Grain Tangy Orange
Nutri-Grain Twists - Forest Fruits
Nutri-Grain Twists - Strawberry and Yoghurt
Oat Bran Flakes
Raisin Wheats
Rice Krispies
Rice Krispies Cereal & Milk Bars
Rice Krispies Chocolate & Caramel Squares
Rice Krispies Muddles
Ricicles
Screamin' Fruit Squidgers - Apple
Screamin' Fruit Squidgers - Blackcurrant
Screamin' Fruit Squidgers - Strawberry
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Apple
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Blackcurrant
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Orange
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Strawberry
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Tropical
Special K
Special K Cereal & Milk Bars
Special K Cereal & Milk Bars - Peach & Apricot
Special K Red Berries
Special K with Peach & Apricot
Start
Sultana Bran
White Chocolate Mueslix Bar
X-MEN 2 - THE CEREAL
All-Bran Apricot Bites
Chocolate Crispix
Coco Pops
Coco Pops Crunchers
Corn Flakes
Frosties
Frosties Chocolate
Frosties Turbo
Fruit 'n Fibre
Just Right
Oat Bran Flakes
Raisin Wheats
Rice Krispies
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Apple
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Blackcurrant
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Orange
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Strawberry
Screamin' Fruit Winders - Tropical

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sources: Kellogg's Web Site.

 
 

Cereal

Vegetarian Vegan Kosher Certified
Alpen Wheat Flakes
Alpen Apple & Blackberry with Yoghurt Bar
Alpen Fruit & Nut Bar
Alpen Fruit & Nut with Chocolate Bar
Alpen Strawberry & Yoghurt Bar
Nature's Own Organic Malt Wheat Squares
Ready Brek Banana
Ready Brek Chocolate
Ready Brek Original
Ready Brek Strawberry
Weetabix
Weetabix Mini Crunch Banana
Weetabix Mini Crunch Chocolate
Weetabix Mini Crunch Fruit & Nut
Weetabix Mini Crunch Honey
Weetabix Organic
Weetos
Weetos Cereal Bars
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
O
O

P
O
O
O
O

P
O
O
O
O

P
P
O
O

P
P

O
O
O
O
O

P
O
P
O
P
O
O
O
O

P
O
O
O
O
O

P
O
                                      Sources:  http://www.weetabix.co.uk/frameset.asp
Note: Kellogg's and Weetabix are registered Trade Mark of their owners/Companies

                              Vegetarian Cheese

This has already been dealt with in our articles:
"Vegetarians Be Careful" whereby succinct information on rennet and cheese are provided. However, following requests from vegetarians, we are providing below a list of vegetarian cheese:

1. SACCA  (not available for quite some time in Mauritius)
2. Spar Cheese (not available for quite some time in Mauritius)
3. Mozarella (Be careful to read the labels as there are several types)
4. Philadelphia Cream (The ONLY vegetarian cheese under the Kraft banner)

Disclaimer: Vegetarian Org Mauritius is not responsible for the quality or guarantee any products. Articles or products that are listed are only as a means of information.            

                                           Homepage                Back               Forward         Top of the Page